L’Atelier le Fil d’Ariane wants to stimulate and sustain the interest of its artisans in art and culture. In that spirit, it invites speakers from the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts to facilitate art workshops at the association. L’Atelier also organizes trips to museums and temporary exhibitions, as well as to cultural venues and interpretative centres so that our artisans can draw creative inspiration for their drawings and embroideries.

 

Admission Criteria  Activities schedule
 

Painting workshop

The painting workshop is a privileged moment for the participants, when they can give free rein to their imagination. We use a set of images with a common theme and a few sketches to stir inspiration and creativity. Artisans will learn a number of techniques. Some will prefer thin lines, others bolder ones. Some may enjoy pastels and others, still, the sponge. Gradually, every artist finds his or her own way and develops a personal painting style that fits their personality.

Sewing

The sewing instructor supervises and plans the tasks surrounding the finishing touches of embroideries. Artisans must do hand sewing (lining application), crocheted belt loops, and cut and shape the pieces of burlap. The team will choose users who display the skills required to produce work that meets our quality standards. Trainees are assessed once a year.

Special Projects

Users who follow the programme offered at l’Atelier le Fil d’Ariane are given the opportunity to take part in some special projects. Amongst the suggested activities: hand-made carts, embroidery stitch, and flower-making. They can also experiment with drawing and embroidery on small jute bags, design and make dolls or Christmas stockings. Knitting is also part of the projects, which enables some woman artisans to knit warm or light scarves.

Afin de stimuler et maintenir chez nos usagers l’intérêt dans les domaines culturel et artistique, l’Atelier le Fil d’Ariane, invite des intervenants du Musée des beaux arts à animer des ateliers artistiques dans ses locaux. Également, des sorties aux musées et galeries temporaires sont organisées par l’atelier. Des visites dans divers lieux culturels et centres d’interprétation encouragent la créativité des artisans dans la production de dessins et broderies.

 

Critères d'admission Horaire des activités

 

Atelier de peinture

L’atelier de peinture est un moment de liberté, durant lequel les participants ont l’occasion de laisser libre court à leur imagination. On part d’un thème d’images d’inspiration, de quelques esquisses pour chercher à développer la créativité des participants. Certaines techniques sont apprises. Certains se dirigent vers des traits fins, d’autres gras, les uns apprécient le pastel, les autres l’éponge,… Petit à petit, chaque artiste développe sa voie et son cheminement individuel collant à sa personnalité.

Couture

L’instructrice-couturière supervise et planifie les tâches de finition des broderies. Ce qui implique le travail de couture à la main (pose de doublure), crochetage des ganses, coupe et taille des pièces de jute. Les usagers qui possèdent les habiletés à fournir un travail répondant aux standards de qualité exigés, sont choisis(es) par l’équipe. Une fois par année chaque stagiaire est évalué.

Projets spéciaux

Les usagers qui participent au programme de l’Atelier le Fil d’Ariane, ont l’opportunité de participer ponctuellement à certains projets spéciaux. La création de cartes fait main, le point noué, la fabrication de fleurs sont les parmi les projets proposés. Ils peuvent aussi expérimenter le dessin et la broderie sur petits sacs de jute, la création et fabrication de poupées, de bas de Noël. Le tricot fait aussi partie de ces projets. Ainsi, quelques artisanes tricotent des foulards ou écharpes.