In 1971, Louise Cimont-Annett and Louise Gervais founded L’Atelier le Fil d’Ariane.  Their goal was to offer a rewarding occupation to adults living with an intellectual disability, combined with partial financial support, affording them a unique place in society thanks to their artistic contribution.  .
 

Since 1971, L’Atelier le Fil d’Ariane has been opening up a whole new world for hundreds of persons.  A world of freedom and pride made possible by artistic expression.  These men and women were given the opportunity to discover their artistic potential and to find personal fulfillment in many aspects of their everyday life. 
 

Just like Ariane, in the Greek mythology, who gave Theseus a thread to help him find his way out of the maze and finally reach the sun of Crete, these men and women finally find their place in the sun.
 

Five days a week, 20 adults aged 18 and over report to work on their own and perform their tasks within a regular schedule. At their own pace, they create unique, bright-coloured embroideries.

Dazzlingly and triumphantly original, the artisans’ work are a luminous mounting of simplified symbols, strangely reminiscent of certain forms of Native art.

Social and cultural activities are organized to help our artisans develop self-confidence. Professional development programs are designed in the form of regular visits to museums, exhibitions and to some companies.

Numerous solo and group exhibits have earned them a chorus of praise not only in Canada but throughout Europe, the United States and Japan as well. Wherever they exhibit their work, they symbolize hope and pride.

En 1971, Louise Cimon-Annett et Louise Gervais fondaient l’Atelier le Fil d’Ariane. Elles souhaitaient offrir à des adultes ayant une déficience intellectuelle, une occupation gratifiante. Un but dans la vie. Une possibilité de support financier partiel, leur créant une place unique dans la société par leur apport artistique.
 

Depuis 1971 L’Atelier le Fil d’Ariane a permis à des centaines de personnes de découvrir un monde nouveau. Un monde de liberté et de fierté à travers l’expression. Elles ont pu découvrir leur potentiel artistique et s’accomplir personellement sur de nombreux aspects de la vie quotidienne.
 

Comme Thésée de la mythologie grecque, à qui Ariane avait donné un fil lui permettant de sortir du labyrinthe pour atteindre enfin le soleil de Crête, ils ont trouvé leur place au soleil.
 

Cinq jours par semaine 20 personnes adultes de 18 ans et plus, se présentent au travail par leur propre moyen et accomplissent leurs tâches dans un horaire régulier de travail. Ils produisent à leur rythme des broderies d’art aux coloris éclatants et uniques au monde.

D’une éblouissante et triomphante originalité, les travaux des artisans sont un lumineux montage de symboles simplifiés, qui rappellent étrangement certaines formes de l’art amérindien.

Des activités sociales et culturelles sont organisées pour les aider à développer leur confiance en eux et leur estime de soi. Des visites régulières aux musées, aux expositions et à certaines entreprises sont mises sur pied en programme de perfectionnement.

De nombreuses expositions solo et de groupes, leur ont valu des concerts de louanges non seulement au Canada mais à travers l’Europe, les Etats-Unis et le Japon. Partout où ils exposent, ils sont un symbole d’espoir et de fierté.